Reading “I Shall Not Be Moved”

I Shall Not Be Moved by Maya Angelou.

I grabbed I Shall Not Be Moved from the library last week because I knew almost nothing about Angelou’s poetry. The collection split into thirds for me: ones I loved, ones I enjoyed and ones that I really didn’t connect to. Angelou has a wonderful voice that brings character out in just a few words. Her sense of history and place is brilliant and gripping. Some of the rhyming poems felt too forced and the rhythm was sacrificed but strangely, as someone who’s not usually a fan of rhyme, I mostly enjoyed them. The book had a lovely clarity of expression and it was unflinching and brutal at times while kind and reassuring at others.
I especially liked Changing; Then Ask Me Why; Human Family and Old Folks Laugh.

I don’t want to post much but these lines have stayed with me

Take the blinders from your vision,
take the padding from your ears,
and confess you’ve heard me crying,
and admit you’ve seen my tears.
-Equality, Maya Angelou

One thought on “Reading “I Shall Not Be Moved”

Leave a Reply

