Explaining Why I’m Wrong

In a very timely fashion, today in the Guardian there is an article by poet and Scots Makar, Liz Lochhead about her poetry and she talks about spoken/page poetry. She says:

I refuse to make a distinction between “page poetry” and “spoken-word poetry”. If it’s good spoken-word poetry, I want to read it on the page as well. And if it’s a proper poem, it should be performable.

I loved hearing what she had to say, especially as I’ve also written/had performed plays and it’s great to see how others find the crossovers. It’s a great interview and you can read the whole piece here.

And if you didn’t catch it yesterday, here’s my blog saying the opposite!

Leave a Reply

