Czesław Miłosz

Happy International Translation Day!

One of my favourite ever poets to read in translation is Czesław Miłosz. He’s a huge inspiration for me and one of the reasons I love poetry.

I have consciously and unconsciously paid homage to him in more than one poem I’ve written. He won the Nobel Prize in Lterature in 1980 and has written some of the most haunting and delightful poetry I’ve ever read. If you have a chance then grab a copy of the Collected Poems,  and savour.

The Poetry Foundation has a great biography and a selection of his poetry.

One of my favourites of his is the poem After Paradise. Here’s a little section of it:

??????????

3 thoughts on “Czesław Miłosz

Leave a Reply

