Settled

Landscaped features that were
set out long ago. Founded on
pre-destined forces. The first
movement never changes, and the
eyes show me all. Total exposure.
All around us the earth cracks
and we take the ground flaws
into ourselves, show them off.
The land lies.

This is almost a companion piece to Watchers. I am a very nature-loving country girl and landscape is really important to me. I love the contrast and mirroring that you can see in people/society and nature which is what this poem was all about.

6 thoughts on “Settled

  1. I think that this is a very well written piece, which works well both literally and metaphorically. I read this on my mobile, so had read the poem before your explanation appeared on the screen, but, by then, it had already formed my response. Just read ‘Watchers’ too. Great writing.

Leave a Reply

