The 5th Ted Hughes

Have I spoken here about the Ted Hughes award before? I don’t remember.

Anyway, it’s my favourite poetry award, and it rewards innovation in poetry. I love innovative methods of writing, reading, discovering and publishing poetry. The short-list and winners are always great and it’s fantastic to see recognition of new ideas. Kate Tempest who won last year is amazing and has been doing brilliantly. I can’t wait to see who is on the list for next year.

Blogging about poetry, doing the poetry postcards, after poems and found poems has brought me in touch with some hugely original and innovative poets and the more I read and hear about new methods and techniques for poetry the more excited I get for the future of poetry.

Have a look at this Poetry Society article all about it. If you’re a member (which is completely worth it, by the way) then you can nominate someone for the award as well. I’d love to hear who you would recommend even if you aren’t a member because that way we can all see more poetry!

Leave a Reply

