Thinking of Titles

So. I have 100 poems written based on book titles.

It was great fun and more exhausting than I had expected. I loved writing the poems but the thing that I found tiring was posting it all online. Things weren’t going right and various bits of technology broke during the day which made things worse but I had forgotten how long it takes to post everything online.

I learnt a lot. I learnt that the thing I love most is writing poems and trying to make them innovative. I also learnt that my second favourite thing is talking to people about poetry, reading and ideas. That’s something that every person who comments on the blog is a huge part of for me. I love chatting to you all! As well as all of my lovely Twitter/Facebook/Tumblr friends.

I learnt that social media is time-consuming and frustrating but overall worthwhile. Even when it feels like a drain on time it is a real aid to innovation and human connection.

Working on another crazy project also got me thinking about what matters to me, and why I do what I do. Here’s what I said about it yesterday:

The short poems project that I did yesterday got me thinking about how I do things in general. Earning no money is weirdly liberating. Don’t get me wrong, it’s terrifying as all hell. It’s horribly hard having to watch every penny and never knowing when savings might run out or bills might get too much but there is nothing that I can’t do. I can write whatever I want. I have nothing to lose and every crazy, daft, misguided project that I get myself into is because I love it – not because someone is paying me to do it. Can’t beat that really. I do hope that some day the two sides will come together though and the things I love will head towards the bank! Also – in recognition of the article that floated around a week or so ago I would never, ever have been able to do this were it not for a previous very well paying job and a very supportive and understanding parent – I’m shockingly lucky and so grateful.

If I do another project like this I think I will either do fewer and plan to put them all online or write everything in one day and not try to blog my way through it – I was stretched too thin. But I had a huge amount of fun and feel incredibly positive about starting off 2014 with so many new poems written. I had a few people quietly suggest that I should put together a hand-made chapbook, which is something I would love to do, and something that people have mentioned wanting before but I would have to find some way of gauging interest first. I’ve got a number of amazing projects on the go at the moment so I’m not short of things to do but I’d happily put something together if a few people wanted a paper version of the poems.

I am so grateful for all of the inspirations, ideas, involvement and incredible feedback that I received throughout the project. So, thank you, all of you.

V.

Leave a Reply

