On The Walls

I have two quotations that I have up on the walls wherever I am working.

I’ve been thinking about this because Quo Vadimus, the short story I recently posted, is all about wisdom, where it comes from and how to accept hearing it.

There is a wonderful clip in M*A*S*H* when Hawkeye tells Radar some excellent advice that someone had once given him and Radar replies saying that it was great advice, and he wishes someone would tell him that. *

And so these are the two quotations that help me out. The ones that I listen to and that I act upon.

“Fly the plane, Maddie.”

That one is taken from Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. It is my way of remembering that I can only control the things right in front of me and that worrying is no use at all.

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

This one is from Howard Thurman. It’s the truest thing I’ve ever read and I think we’d all be rather better off if we could do this.

*If you can tell me the episode that this happens in please, please let me know in comments. I cannot for the life of me remember and I just don’t have time right now to watch every single episode to find it…

6 thoughts on “On The Walls

  1. I especially love the second quote. I got goosebumps reading it because I’m currently discovering what I love to do, instead of thinking I should only do what people expect me to do. :)

Leave a Reply

