Formal Apology

It’s National Poetry Day and I have nothing planned. I had a few ideas of what I could do but I’ve not done any of them. This is the first time in years that I’ve not done anything.

I really enjoy writing and sharing poetry on Patreon. Partly for the same reason that I loved sharing poetry on this blog – because I just like getting poems out there. Partly because I know only a few people will see it and those people are part of a community I am growing. They are investing, and not just money, in the poems that I have invested so much in.

I really dislike formality. I hate routine. I loathe repetition.

This blog has become a drag. Is that too strong a term? Perhaps.

I’m tired of doing the same thing, of trying to make it seem coherent. The times I have most fun with the blog are when I am doing weird and different things. Things that are more me. I have gotten stuck into a rut and then I perpetuated it by thinking that it was all that I *should* do.

I expected little to nothing to change when I set up Patreon. And I expected any changes to be driven by time restraints. I actually work both very hard and very quickly so that’s not really a problem. The problem is that the routine of posting the same things on here has become tedious for me, which much mean it’s become tedious for everyone else.

I’ve decided to change what I’m doing here and I’m closing down my Facebook page.

Poetry is going to be mostly on Patreon but also a little on here. This is going to become a lot more diverse.

Happily, only an hour or so after deciding this I got a message from my friend Al with an idea for something fun to do. We both watch a lot of the same TV shows and we are both madly keen on Criminal Minds, which just premièred its tenth season. We tend to talk through shows in depth once we’ve seen them and have decided to do this in a longer format and pop them up on our blogs. That will appear here shortly.

This is a work in progress and I would love to hear thoughts on it, ideas and opinions.

Leave a Reply

