Christmas Writing Sprint

This time last year I hadn’t written a novella. Now I’ve had one published.

I heard about the SALT publishing call for Modern Dreams submissions just before Christmas last year. I spent the weekend plotting and researching and then the five weekdays around Christmas writing it. It was a great way of getting a concentrated amount of work done when it’s too busy to go out anywhere and the internet has gone quiet.

It was harder this year to decide what to write. I’ve got three big projects that I’m working on and I could have chosen any of them, but I really liked writing a novella and getting a whole project done. I’ve had a character sitting around for a while now, waiting to do something with him. He comes complete with a world, setting, friends and family. It’s time to give him a go. Also I haven’t written any fantasy this year so it’ll be nice to get back to that.

Strangely, I only really started to think about using this character a few days ago, so yet again there is a very intensive period of planning going on at the moment. Then I’ll spend next Monday-Friday writing 5k to 6k a day and hopefully have a novella at the end of it.

If you’d like to see a sample of the novella I wrote last year, or buy it, then you can get it here.
If you’d like to have a go at a Modern Dreams submission of your own, here’s the call.
.
..
And, unrelated to this really, the paperback of my début poetry book And The Fox Crows is out now, and over here, if you’d like to see that one too!

Leave a Reply

